Marketing to a New Industry

As I always say, at the end of the day…marketing is marketing.  And good marketers know how to adapt to customer needs and how to provide them with the right knowledge about their brand, in the way that the customer chooses to gain that knowledge.

So in reality, it’s all about adapting to new marketing techniques, new customer demands, new technologies, and new ways of thinking.  Hence why working in a new industry has not been daunting to me in my past, nor do I see it as a hindrance for my future. If I as a marketer need to be able to adapt to all of what I mentioned above then I better be able to adapt to new industries and figure out the best way to reach the customers in those industries.

I come in to any new role the same way.  Learn the ropes from self education as well as gaining knowledge from internal personnel that know the industry, the customers, and can give me an insight in to challenges and opportunities.  From there, I can get a better sense for how to go about my marketing initiatives, how, when, and where to execute them and what kinds of metrics to set.

So don’t be afraid to step outside your comfort zone, because I’d bet…you’d only become a better marketer for it!

P.S. I’m looking for some good, and free, online courses.  So far I’ve earmarked some time for additional education on email marketing and Google Analytics but I’d love your tips!

Leave a Reply

