Work Life Balance

image

Balancing a career, a child and all that goes with that,  as well as being a wife and homemaker can make anyone feel like there is no balance at all.  The reason may be that when you are doing any of those things, you’re trying to do them at 110% each and every time.

It can be hard to explain to a potential employer that the reason you’re asking about what regular hours are like is not so you can have leniency but so you can juggle all of those other balls while contributing both at work and financially.   A new employer does not know how dedicated you are, so it is up to you to prove that to them and show that during the hours that you are there you are committed to the job and making them look good.

I personally try to be the first person in, rarely take a lunch, and do as much work as humanly possible while I am at work.  But when I know that it is time to leave so that I can go pick up my child, I have to go. Staying late is an absolute option but not one that I can commit to 100% of the time at this point in my life.  But that does not mean that after my son has gone to bed I will not be checking my phone and answering emails.

It’s all about that balance and making sure that all the balls are constantly in the air.  How are you ensureing to keep a work life balance?

3 thoughts on “Work Life Balance

  1. I think a lot of people can relate to your post. I’ve found that taking even a half hour work break to work out (run, jog, walk, stretch) clears my mind and eats away at feeling overwhelmed.

Leave a Reply

