Thinking Outside the Application Box

Everyone is fully capable of sending their resumes into the black hole. But are there things you can do to try and stand out? I mean really?  What’s the worst that can happen?  Maybe you won’t get a call back? You were potentially on that path anyway so be spontaneous and think outside the box.

After all, and I digress slightly, if you are on unemployment then you are potentially on or will be on the REA program which requires you to conduct your search on three different days in three different ways.  I’ll go into all of that another day but none the less.

So what can you do?  I’m going to suggest you try that free premium job seeker plan on LinkedIn.  Try it out for free for the first 30 days and see what happens.  The first time I tried it, I was able to send an inmail to a director of HR at a company I was interested in.  I never ever expected that he would get back to me and I certainly didn’t think that he might have a lead on a job for me.  Long story short I got pretty far in the process but unfortunately not all of the stars aligned.  But guess what, I just bucked up and paid for another 30 days through LinkedIn because I think it’s worth a shot in the dark.

How about dropping by?  Perhaps you’ve already applied somewhere you’d love to work but haven’t heard back yet, or had a conversation with a recruiter but things seem to have fizzled out.  Why not take an extra step and gather up all of your portfolio items and drop them off with the receptionist.  Now this can go two different ways, right?  A) someone might think you’re a bit nutty for dropping by B) someone might think that you’re really serious and a go getter.  Either way, the only bad thing that might happen is that you may not hear from those folks again, but by the sounds of it, perhaps things were heading that way anyway.  So take a risk!

Also, don’t forget about networking like crazy, or start being an influencer on LinkedIn and blogging to get your name out there, go to networking events, volunteer, follow influencers on twitter and start a conversation with them.  All of these things will pay off in the end.

Go get em tiger!🙂

Leave a Reply

