Marketing Thoughts

Today is a big day for me, hence why I’m excited enough to post an extra blog for the week.  I get a bunch of proposals back from various PR and web vendors and get to make the big choice of who fits us best and who gets our vision and won’t be afraid to push us out of our box.

What I’ve said to everyone so far is that we *need* someone to be that voice that tells us what we should be doing, as I won’t pretend to be an expert in the things that I don’t directly work on day to day.  I try to be expert enough that I can have a conversation about all things marketing but you can’t be all things to all people no matter how hard you try.

However, some of the best meetings for me have been when I’ve walked away energized about the prospect of something new and when I feel like I’ve learned something new.  Case in point, yesterday I learned that I’ve been living under a rock and in the meantime there have been some amazing B2B meetings going on and some amazing people have shared very interesting insights into the marketing world.  For example, here are the names and books I urge you to look up as well.  I’ll leave it at that:

* Gary Vaynerchuk, a TED speaker

* Simon Sinek, another TED speaker talks about asking “WHY?” instead of  “WHAT?” when it comes to product

* Jim Stengel has written a book titled GROW. “Grow presents an actionable framework for developing the roots that are necessary to thrive in the new business climate.”

I hope these links have inspired you to get out from under the rock and look around at what has changed in marketing.

What new news can you share with me?

Leave a Reply

