Industrial Marketing

Last week I addressed the various CPG marketing areas but today I wanted to talk about a little known area of B2B marketing that pertains to the industrial & manufacturing market.  The above graph depicts the marketing goals that fall in to this kind of marketing which differ from traditional marketing that is talked about in schools. Typically, you’re talking more about brand awareness and sales and quick buying cycles.  However, although sales is very important, lead generation is right up there on the totem pole.

Why school?  Well, I was looking in to new ways of setting up our marketing strategy, which I hope to share with you, for next year and decided to see what others in the industry are doing.  For the past year I’ve been focusing first and foremost on the various markets we sell in to, and secondly the buying times of those markets.  Based on those two things, we decide what kind of outreach we should focus on when and what topics should be talked about.  In my research, I came across a really great article from mbtmag.com, or Manufacturing Business Technology.  In this article, Industrial Marketing Is Not Consumer Marketing, the author talks about the fact that B2B industrial marketing tactics are not taught in schools and universities.  What are taught, are the glorified B2C scenarios of the infamous Nova case study or most recently the Domino’s reinvention of their pizzas.  I haven’t read the last one, but I’m sure it’s out there somewhere, along with these few as well.

The point is, professors in a lot of cases are professors.  What I found in my own studies is that these folks are educators first, or last.  What I mean by that is they perhaps did work in the respective areas of a business that they are teaching, but at this stage in their lives, they are teachers and have been removed from the day to day world.  Or, they have read enough books to put us all to shame about various marketing practices, but haven’t actually put them to the test.

However, the main point that the article I came across talks about is that it’s difficult, and often boring, to teach industrial marketing because you’re talking about manufacturing and buying cycles, and sales people, and budgeting and things that college students don’t comprehend because they haven’t been there yet and haven’t done it.  Hence, a lot of marketers are unprepared for working in this kind of environment.

My suggestion?  Co-op!  It makes a world of difference!  Or field trips to manufacturing companies in the surrounding areas.  Field trips to any company in the surrounding area would help the students see what it is they would actually, potentially, be doing and how different it is from place to place.

Maybe one day I’ll get the chance to be a teacher or professor and I hope to whatever power is out there that I keep the students on the edge of their seats even during the boring lectures.

Leave a Reply

