Highly Promotable People

“One of the most common questions asked by an employee of his or her company is, ‘What can I do to get promoted?’” 

Personally, I’ve never really asked this question before.  I, perhaps naively, assume that if I keep my head low to the ground and work hard, it will get noticed and I will be rewarded.  The same goes for any kind of praise.  I humbly thank the person and move on to the next task and hope to do an equally good job.  My motto for self evaluations has also been the same, shoot low and if what you have done is worthy of a higher mark then let someone tell you that, rather than assume it yourself.

However, if you are someone who is dying to find out if there is some kind of secret formula for “movin’ on up,” this article, titled “Essential Qualities of Highly Promotable Employees,” confirms that there really isn’t.  Deep down, it really depends on the kind of person you are and how you go about executing your tasks. 

What did you do today?  Did you humbly accept any praise or did you seek out a compliment?

One thought on “Highly Promotable People

Leave a Reply

