Daily Resolutions

How many of us begin each year by creating a yearly resolutions list?  How many of us then not complete all of those resolutions?  And lastly, how many have given up creating any kind of resolutions as we all know, time will get away from us and who can really remember what they vowed to do back on January 1? 

The above is why I am glad I stumbled upon an article written by J.T. O’Donnell on the 10 Things To Do Every Workday.  Once something becomes a routine, it’s hard to get out of that routine.  And if you do, you actually feel bad about it and make sure to get back on the horse.  So what are these 10 things that J.T. resolves to do each and every day?  Well, they are simple, completely manageable and keep you on top of your game.  Who wouldn’t want that?

  1. Read something related to my industry.
  2. Read something related to business development.
  3. Send two emails to touch base with old colleagues.
  4. Empty my private client inbox by responding to all career coaching questions within one business day.
  5. Check in with each team member on their progress.
  6. Have a short non-work related conversation with every employee.
  7. Review my top three goals for my company that are focused on its growth.
  8. Identify and execute one task to support each of my top three goals.
  9. Post five valuable pieces of content on all my major social media accounts.
  10. Take a full minute to appreciate what I have and how far I’ve come.

I have highlighted the tasks I think I need to get better at which should aid me in becoming a better manager, leader, and person.  As for my other five tasks:

  1. Check in with each team member on their progress.
  2. Have a short non-work related conversation with every employee.
  3. Review my top three goals for my company that are focused on its growth.
  4. Identify and execute one task to support each of my top three goals.
  5. Take a full minute to appreciate what I have and how far I’ve come.
  6. Read one article in Spanish to keep up my knowledge of the language.
  7. Go through my to do list and ensure that at least two things have been checked off each and every day.  Too often we get bogged down in emails and phone calls and then at the end of the day feel like nothing has been accomplished.
  8. Do one or two personal things that you can only do during business hours.  This might make you feel like you have a better work/life balance.
  9. Get up from my desk!
  10. If it’s possible, instead of emailing, call the person you are trying to get in touch with and move the needle along on a project via the phone.

What are the 10 things you’ll try and accomplish in your workday?  You may not get to all of them, as J.T. states, but as I mentioned above, if you get at least a few checked off, you’ll feel much better about yourself by the time you go home.

Thanks for the great article J.T. and getting us to think a bit more outside the box.

What did you do today?

One thought on “Daily Resolutions

Leave a Reply

