Boston Proud

In light of the current events that happened in Boston I’d like to begin this post by guiding you all to a link that lists all the ways that you can help in this time of need.

I’d like to follow-up with my own thoughts on the city that I love.  Back in January of 1999 my family and I moved to this city from Burlingame, CA.  Flying in to Logan airport, coming from Northern California, in the middle of my sophomore year of high school, in January…well, I will leave it to you what I was thinking but I’ll just say I was not too thrilled about this next chapter in our lives.  I was leaving my friends, California, and had to begin all over again.  I was in hate with this town.  I couldn’t wait to head back west for college but instead ended up going to Northeastern University and that’s when my love for the city began.

Although I lived at home I would commute in to town every morning, I began to make life long friends and the city became mine.  I knew its nooks and crannies, I never felt unsafe and I couldn’t ever imagine leaving.  My family eventually ended up moving back west again and much to my mother’s pleas for me and my husband to move out west I couldn’t imagine leaving this wonderful part of the country.

People usually take the place they live in for granted, until they have to leave or something drastic happens.  Following the tragic events that happened on the 15th of April of this year I care for this city even more.  I cannot believe that something like this happened in our backyard but in light of all of that I cannot wait to come back to the city and show our soon to be born son everything that I love about this place…the parks, the river, the streets and cafes and the people who make it unique.

I know that these sentiments have been felt and said far too many times in the recent past but, think of the people who were hurt and lost loved ones and most importantly never forget this day.  Not only because of the devastation but also because of how this city and the people pulled together during these horrific events.

I leave you with a few of my own pictures of Boston.

                        

I would love to hear your stories about the city you love.

What did you do today?  Did you hug a loved one?  Did you try to show your pride of Boston and head out to the city?

P.S. You can see more of my photos of Boston on my newly created Pinterest board, or see all my photos on flickr by clicking on my feed on the right of this page or HERE.

2 thoughts on “Boston Proud

Leave a Reply

