Management & Leadership

I am a new manager, I admit it.  Now, I think we can all say, “I have managed before.”  “I have managed teams through a project.” “I have managed a project.”  The list goes on.

But, managing direct reports is something entirely different.  You are now in charge of not only getting your work done, but also ensuring that the people reporting to you are happy, well-rounded, want to come to work everyday, oh and of course get their work done as well.

I found it particularly interesting when a potential candidate we were interviewing asked me what kind of manager I am.  I had to admit what I admitted to you in the beginning.  I am new at this game.  However, I am striving to be a good manager.  I want people to be able to rely on me, be honest with me, but also respect and back me up me when I push them in a certain direction that may have a tight deadline.  As I have done with everything, I’m not sitting back and hoping I get it right.  Luckily, my company provides all kinds of great leadership and mentoring opportunities.  I am particularly interested in those that ask for anonymous feedback from my peers and direct reports as I don’t want to go in to the “Dark Side of Leadership.”

So now I ask you, what courses or measures are you taking to continue to strive to be the best at not only what you do, but also at how you lead while doing it?

What did you do today?

P.S. Recently it was this blog’s THREE year anniversary!  I can’t even believe it.  Thank you all for reading and thank you to those who comment and leave their own advice and thoughts behind.  You’ve certainly allowed me to grow and I hope I have helped some of you along the way too.

P.P.S.  Here are some great resources for management training:
AMA – American Management Training
Business Management Courses by Learning Tree
National Seminars for First Time Managers–>I will be blogging about this one toward the end of this month!
Talent Management & Leadership Development group on LinkedIn
Manager Tools – Podcast
Manager Tools – LinkedIn Group

Leave a Reply

