Resume Tips

Having had the pleasure of recently reading through a large number of resumes a few things really stuck out to me.  I thought I would share those things with you. 

Boy did I see a lot of resumes with the education listed first.  This may be a personal thing and students may have been told to list their recently completed degree in first place, but in my opinion, if you have ANY kind of work experience, you want to list that first and foremost.  Why?  Because that is what is most relevant to the work you might potentially be doing.  Here are some other things I was surprised to see highlighted:

  • GPA.  Why?  This really doesn’t tell me anything.  The fact that you may have received a 3.4 two or three years ago would have meant nothing to me then and certainly doesn’t mean anything to me now.  Don’t list it unless it is asked for in a job description.
  • Listing the name of the sorority or fraternity you may have been a part of.  Even less relevant than a GPA.  If it comes out in an interview that you and the interviewer went to the same school you can mention that you were part of something specific at that school but at the end of the day, unless you are going after your first internship, or didn’t have any internships and are after your first job, then list your accolades in school, not the frat you were in.

Lastly,

  • Pull out the skills that pertain to the job you are applying for and highlight them.
  • Proof read.

I hope my comments might help you tailor your resume and get you in for that interview.

What did you do today?

P.S. Here is an article about writing a killer reumse that lands you an interview.

Leave a Reply

