My Two Cents: The Travel Channel

Somewhere recently I saw Samantha Brown’s name. For those of you who don’t know who she is, she used to have a great show on the Travel Channel.  Now I know, her show has moved to the day time, 9am on Friday’s.  I’m not sure who is home at that hour as I think weekend mornings are prime time for these shows.  Case in point, I switched to the channel guide to see what was on on the Travel Channel one Saturday morning.  This used to be prime travel show time, and now you have shows such as, When Vacations Attack, Mysteries at the Museum, Man vs. Food and Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations.

When I brought this topic up to the fiancee, he asked why I was hating on the Travel Channel because all of the above shows have the main host traveling to various places, which I don’t disagree with. But I want to see a show that solely revolves around travel, where the host experiences the sights and the culture and has no intention to binge eat to prove a point.  If you’d like, Travel Channel, I can even contribute to the stories and share where I’ve been. :)

So here are my two cents, I think that there is room for the true travel show, especially on the Travel Channel.

Riga, LatviaWhat are your two cents?

Leave a Reply

