Using Your Skills!

Over the summer I was visiting Latvia, where I’m from, and went over to a neighbor’s house.  Since the fiancée doesn’t speak Latvian he was happy to speak with our neighbors nephew, who spoke English.  When I asked him if he speaks it so well because he uses it for work he said no.  All he does is read books and look up words he doesn’t know.  Now, he did go to an English-speaking school, yes, back in the USSR days they, but the fact that he has kept his English up by reading got me thinking.

So, for the last month or so I’ve been making sure to read one article a day from El Pais.  For those that may not know, I spent a year in Spain during my undergraduate studies.  For the first six months I took 9 classes, including economics and business law, all in Spanish and the last six months were spent working in a sales/marketing role in the Smart car division of Mercedes.

Side bar… do you know WHY the brand is called Smart?  Because the car was a collaboration between Swatch and Mercedes and together they made…art! SMArt.

Anywho, since then I’ve only had certain opportunities to speak the language.  I’ve been told to watch movies, telenovelas or read books but I had to come to this decision on my own.  I have to say I truly enjoy reading the articles. It makes me feel like I get to practice AND learn about what’s going on in Europe.

Well, recently I got to use my skills!  I am going to honeymoon in Mexico and had to book the hotel after purchasing a voucher from living social.  I decided that I would book our stay and speak only Spanish while doing it.  And I did it.  It felt so good to finally use my Spanish skills.

Now go out my pretties and use YOUR skills!

What did you do today?

One thought on “Using Your Skills!

Leave a Reply

