Self Employment, You Can Do It!

Quite a few months ago I had this great idea that I would share 5 stories with you about people that are self employed in the hopes of giving everyone a little inspiration.   Well, I couldn’t get 5 stories and the idea kind of went by the wayside.  However, I do want to share with you a story from someone who did share their experience with me.

His Facebook fan page says that, “Greg is a Trainer, Student, Soldier, and All Around Good Person in the Boston Area. Currently he is working at the Boston Sports Club of Watertown, and is available for training in and out of The Boston Sports Clubs. http://www.gregtrainer.com”

Without further ado, I share with you Greg’s story of how he got into personal training and is happily self employed.

“I got into personal training because it is my passion. I actually enjoy sprinting up a hill 15 times, or loading a bar with 400 lbs and trying to pull it off the ground. It runs deeper than that though. The gym gave so much to me. I love the feeling of completing a grueling workout and walking around 2 hours later feeling great like I could run through a wall. Furthermore, when I left for College at the ripe age of 18 I was overweight. 216lbs and could barely do push ups. I was able to hit a 90mph fastball and throw the ball pretty fast as well and that had earned me enough accolades in high school to become a stand out player. I don’t want you to get the impression that I was lazy, I worked really hard at baseball but fitness was never really on my mind. In my freshman year I started to really read about working out and nutrition and was able to transform my body quite drastically. It’s been a love affair ever since.

Listen, I am never going to work a job that involves sitting at a desk or making copies. So I needed to make my passions work for me. I flirted with coaching baseball and I plan to return to it when I settle down somewhere and am finished with school. The fact of the matter is I research, read and live fitness everyday. I do it for me just as much as I do it for the benefit of my clients. Therefore it was an obvious choice. I can actually have fun making myself better at my job by training.

Not to get off on a tangent, but ‘personal training’ is not what I want to do or what I want to be considered. The industry is a bit of a joke. It is chock full of scam artists and people who simply look the part. With that said, the BSC did help me get a training off the ground. When you are hired at BSC you are hired as an apprentice trainer and as you gain clientele through ‘floor hours’ you are slowly weened off the ‘program’ and left to your own devices. You have minumus you must hit every month but the business is completely driven by you – or at least that’s the way it’s designed.

I have made my own opportunities. The cool thing about this industry is you can learn so much for free. I go out of my way to do observational internships with leaders in the field. I read articles and blogs every day. I started a blog and  gained a facebook following by being me and doing what I love and just using free networking tools to do so.”

How do you like that? Like Greg Robins CPT on Facebook for Greg’s tips!

What did you do today?

Looking for more inspiration?  Take a look at J’s Everyday Fashion blog. I began following this blog pretty much from the beginning.  J was just another marketing girl who was sure she’d be joining the unemployed crowd.  Through social media and networking she has become somewhat of a celebrity among us every day gals.

If these people can do it, so can you!

One thought on “Self Employment, You Can Do It!

  1. Pingback: Self Employment, You Can Do It! | Career Advice 101 | Employment

Leave a Reply

