Why Keywords Rule LinkedIn

Wow, I got my mind BLOWN last week during a webinar led by Lewis Howes.  I knew keywords were important on LinkedIn but I had no idea how much.  You’ll thank me later for pushing you all to optimize your profiles.  Here goes, here are the top lessons I learned from Lewis’ webinar titled, How to Get Results Using LinkedIn.

According to Lewis there are five places that you want to ensure you have your keywords listed.  Ideally these are the same keywords so when someone searches for, let’s say “marketing professional,” you will come up at the top of their search list.  I have yet to accomplish this but these new tips are making me obsess over the powers of LinkedIn and networking.

So here goes, make sure your keywords are listed in the following five places:

1. Headline
2. Current job title/description
3. Past job title/description
4. Summary description
5. Specialties section

I’d love to hear if going through these steps help you get noticed more.

The other idea I got was to start a Career Advice 101 group on LinkedIn.  There are so many articles and ideas I get daily that I simply don’t have the time to write about.  I think the group will allow not only me to share advice but it will give a place for all of you to interact.  I will let you all know once I get the group up…and I hope you’ll join :)

What did you do today?

One thought on “Why Keywords Rule LinkedIn

  1. Pingback: LinkedIn Basics | Career Advice 101

Leave a Reply

