The Importance of Setting up Goals

In order to feel like you’ve succeeded at doing something you have to have goals.  No matter if you are working or not, you have goals for yourself and once you achieve them you really do feel like you’ve accomplished something.  If nothing else, it’s something you can mentally put a check next to and say that you’ve done it.

It’s very important to set up goals for yourself in the workplace.  Not only does it allow you to show your progression in certain projects and tasks but it allows you to show that you’ve actually been doing something.

When I was interviewing for my current job I came in with a 30-60-90 plan and I actually went ahead and updated the initial plan once my initial one ran out.  It was great to look back on the first three months and see that I actually accomplished the things I set out to do.  And to boot, I did more than I thought I would have.  It also allowed my manger to see that I like to set goals and “to-do” lists for myself to keep things on track.

From the employers point of view, goals are what drive an employee…or at least they should.  When things go wrong is when the employee thinks that their goals don’t matter and that they are just chasing the unimportant.  It’s key to tie an employees goals to bigger company related goals.  That’s why I am happy to know that what I am contributing to my company actually matters.  It drives me to do more and learn more about what I’m doing.

It should also be important to make sure that the goals are actually being met.  If not, perhaps there is a bigger problem. Perhaps the employee simply isn’t motivated, perhaps he or she is swamped with little tasks and you have no idea or worse yet, they just don’t care.  All of these issues should be addressed sooner rather than later.

What did you do today?

P.S. Here is the article that inspired this post, Making Sure Your Employees Succeed.

2 thoughts on “The Importance of Setting up Goals

  1. I’m a firm believer in setting goals. One that you touched upon is the daily to-do list. I normally set goals for the year, making new years resolutions on my birthday rather than on Jan. 1. Then on a monthly basis, I set goals intended to address each of the annual goals. The daily to-do list is the tactical tool used to make sure all my daily tasks get done, while insuring that the monthly goals get addressed.
    I’ve often heard that if you accomplish more than 70% of your goals, you’re setting them too low.
    Thanks for the thoughtful post.
    Lew Sauder, Author, Consulting 101: 101 Tips For Success in Consulting (www.Consulting101Book.com)

Leave a Reply

