In 5 Years I Will…

We are always asked, where do you want to be in 5 years?

More often than not, it’s very hard to answer this question.  You might answer it during an interview by including the company’s mission statement and where the company might envision itself in five years. You might also answer the question by talking about what you hope to be doing in five years, perhaps that might involve you taking courses or getting a promotion at work.

Amy Gallo, who wrote the article Where Will You Be in Five Years?, suggests that you be introspective.  Amy encourages people to answer the following questions before answering the big question.  These thought provoking questions are:

1. What are my values?
2. What are my goals?
3. What am I willing to do to get there?

In order to have better answers to these questions you should understand what the inquirer is actually asking.  Are they looking for answers that revolve around self improvement?  Are they hoping to figure out if you are results driven? The answers to your questions will allow you to narrow down your final response.

Where will I be in 5 years?  After thinking about the above three questions I would say that I want to continue to be a good person who helps others and comes in and does a good job at work.  I am always trying to learn more and as long as I am allowed to do so I will not only excel in my job but be happy that I am allowed to better myself through educational courses.

What did you do today?

One thought on “In 5 Years I Will…

  1. I’ve always found this to be a difficult question. The world has never stood still, but as technology changes on an increasingly rapid rate, it’s gets harder to envision what things will be like 5 years down the road. If you are asked this in an interview – and where else would you be asked this question – I would recommend focusing on the things you’d like to learn and areas to grow that will benefit the interviewer. Almost every interview question should show value and benefit for the company with whom you are interviewing.
    Lew Sauder, Author, Consulting 101: 101 Tips For Success in Consulting (www.Consulting101Book.com)

Leave a Reply

