Google Doodle

Last week I had the pleasure of attending my very first SEMNE event where the Hottest Topics in Search Marketing were addressed.  Jonathan Allen, the guest speaker, from searchenginewatch.com discussed a lot of very interesting topics.  However, there were two that really peaked my interest, one of them revolved around Google Doodle, the other…well, you’ll just have to wait until Friday.

Let’s get to it.  For those who haven’t thought about the words, Google and Doodle don’t worry, I hadn’t either.  I just thought that every once in a while Google had some fun with their logo.  What I hadn’t thought about was how I could use this to my advantage.

Jonathan mentioned that on J.F.K.’s birthday they wrote a post about J.F.K. and made sure to launch it at 9am Eastern time, which would mean that it would be 1pm in London and 6am in the Western part of the U.S.  What did this do?  It pulled the keyword, J.F.K. and populated it so the post was picked up during all of the key times in all of the relevant time zones.  Although the exposure might not last, this will definitely expose your blog or site to a lot of new readers.

Although I can’t seem to find out what the next Google Doodle might be I could look on what days the doodle showed up last year and see if any topics I might write about would relate to the Google Doodle of the moment.  For example, I know I won’t be writing about the President’s,  but I would bet that there will be a doodle for President’s Day.

This search idea has completely opened up my world.  What search tactics are you using?

More importantly…what did you do today?

2 thoughts on “Google Doodle

Leave a Reply

