Changes

Those of us who have a LinkedIn account may have received an e-mail in the last two weeks about the career changes in your network.  Mine claimed that 49 people in my network changed jobs in 2010.  I decided to explore that a little more and see what kinds of changes REALLY occurred.

New job: 33

New job description: 7

Internships: 1

Volunteering/Mentoring: 3

Same position as previously: 4

Unemployed: 2

As you can see, there’s quite a variety here.  Not everyone changed jobs as it is advertised in the e-mail.  I certainly don’t expect anyone else to go through all of their connections and check out the changes but my key take away’s from doing this exercise are the following:

1. I didn’t realize that a lot of my connections did find new jobs at some fantastic companies.

2. People’s LinkedIn profiles are WAY too cluttered.  As a networker I would use LinkedIn as a professional source.  Having said that, I would highlight my skills and previous accomplishments and not the blogs I am following or the books I am reading.  You can still share all of that information but it shouldn’t be the first thing people see.  In other words, potential employers and others who are interested in your accomplishments should not have to scroll through your interests before getting to your achievements.

3. This exercise gave me an opportunity to check in with my network and shoot off some messages congratulating people on their success’ which shows that I don’t just value their input and connection in bad times.

What did you do today?

Leave a Reply

