Volunteering

I picked up a printed copy of the Brookline Adult & Community Education booklet for Winter 2011, this week in the hopes of finding another computer course I could sign up for.  While browsing the listed courses I came across one titled “Volunteering: Alternative Ways to the Job Market.”  I have to share the description with you as I feel that it preaches everything I have ever written about:

Volunteering is a great way to learn new skills, meet new people, make professional connections, and make a difference in the world. Join us to learn how to find the agency and volunteer opportunity that is best for you so that your experience is enriching and rewarding. This course will give you practical information about finding nonprofit organizations that need your help, as well as opportunities to reflect on how to match your interests with a volunteer position. Join us to discover how volunteering can help you find new career paths and support non-profits in the greater Boston area.”

As you check out my Volunteering category you may come across a blog post titled, Volunteering is always an option, in which I talk about my exposure to the advertising world through my connection at The Ad Club…all thanks to volunteering!

While looking for courses that help you during your job search you may also be interested in a class titled, Weathering a Job Loss.

What did you do today?

One thought on “Volunteering

  1. Pingback: World Spinner

Leave a Reply

