The long hard road…to employment

16 months

457 job applications

93 rejections

Roughly 15 face to face interviews

9 basic cover letters that were reworked numerous times

18 reworked versions of a resume

Two placement agencies

Five volunteer events

One part-time job

Several gray hairs

And that is what it took to FINALLY find employment!!! I could not be happier!  Thank you all for reading and encouraging me to keep writing. HOWEVER, I will not be leaving you for long.  I still plan to share advice, at times it will be written for those who may be employed, however the writing may be puled back to three times a week while I adjust to my new environment.  But for now, I am taking a week off to enjoy my vacation!

What did you do today?

11 thoughts on “The long hard road…to employment

  1. Linda,
    Can’t think of a nicer person who deserved to find just the right job, at the right time! Your new employer is very lucky to have you!

    Best wishes and best of luck!
    Lisa ps I would not share where you are working — this is the internet and this is a public blog, just saying, you have to be very careful. If you want to say what industry you’re in, and give the gist of your new job duties, I think that is sufficient. Just be safe. Just my 2 cents based on what I’ve read about security issues. Take care.

    • Hi Lisa, thanks for the congrats. I most definitelly will not be blogging about my actual job, I agree with your take on things. The way I see it, there are still lots of thigns I can write about, job search and work life related 🙂

      Thanks again!

  2. Pingback: 2010 in Review « Career Advice 101

  3. Pingback: Our Unemployed Life | Career Advice 101

Leave a Reply

