The Recruiters Point of View…To Be Continued

I’d like to add a positive spin to yesterday’s post about people, and sometimes recruiters, who don’t respond after an interview. I got a lot of comments about this post and have read about all of your personal stories about people misunderstanding our situation, with one in particular sticking out: “I was talking with a web guy about the frustrating job market, saying that ‘many good candidates (marketers) are vying for jobs below their skill level…’ and he replied ‘The good ones are still employed.'”

Well, I’m here to tell you that there are indeed those out there who care and are great at what they do.  I have been in touch with a corporate recruiter ever since I applied for a position at company X.  She let me know right away that they were looking for someone a little different but to keep in touch. So keep in touch I did.  Now we are going to meet up for an informational interview after which I plan to share with you all her take on the whole unemployment situation.

I plan to ask:

What is the typical day for a recruiter?

What types of candidates and resumes stick out to recruiters?

If an MBA is not called out in a job description, do those with one get moved to the “no” pile automatically?

Roughly how many applicants are there for any given position?

How many usually move on to first round interviews?

I’m sure the conversation will lead to other questions but if there is anything that you are all wondering about, please leave me a comment and I’ll make sure to get an answer for you. Look for the answers next Monday!

I’m really looking forward to this inside look to the job search.

What did you do today?

4 thoughts on “The Recruiters Point of View…To Be Continued

  1. Hi Linda,

    You should also inquire about how many candidates are actually hired via a job board/company career site vs an internal reference. The online job search has been one of the most futile attempts at finding work.

    Keep up the good job.

Leave a Reply

