Tweet to Succeed

First, I’d like to apologize for my lack of blog entries, I plan to make up for that today.  Sometimes life gets away from you and before you know it days have gone by and you haven’t blogged! 🙂

How many times have I written about social media and Twitter?  I can’t even keep the score any more.  Regardless, yesterday I came across a great article about the possibilities through Twitter and since I am a true advocate of adding inbound marketing to your marketing mix I can’t not blog about it.  The interview was with Biz Stone, the co-founder of Twitter, and is titled Social Media Grows Up.  What I have always been saying is that it’s about the content and the pro activity that will allow you to succeed at Tweeting for your business.

A great example of bad Twitter management is the following: I subscribe to a magazine that I am very interested in reading.  Prior to my recent move I made sure to change the address on the magazine’s website but through some glitch in the system the address wasn’t saved and I didn’t receive last month’s issue.  I Tweeted to whoever is in charge of social media there, saying that I was sad about it and hoped the problem would get solved, no one responded.  A couple of weeks later, I Tweeted again and still no response.  It is now the end of another month and yet again I will miss an issue.  I went on the actual website and saw that no matter how many times I save my new address the old one appears.  I have written to customer service and hope the problem gets resolved.  My point? Does anyone read the inbound Tweets?  If not, I am feeling pretty let down and I don’t know if I’ll ever subscribe to this mag again.  Here’s an easy solution: As a business, don’t just use Twitter to get a bunch of people to follow you.  You need to connect with these people and make sure that your customers are actually happy.

This is exactly what Biz is trying to say.  It’s not about the number of followers but about how you treat the ones you’ve got.  “You don’t need a million followers to be successful. If you have 3,000 people who really care about your company and are interested in what you have to say, they’ll share it with their followers, and you’ll gain a much bigger audience.”

Is YOUR company using social media the right way? If not, look for people like me who will turn things around!

What did you do today?

2 thoughts on “Tweet to Succeed

  1. Pingback: Tweet to Succeed « Musings of an Unemployed MBA Graduate

Leave a Reply

