Inbound Marketing

I have to say that the following info is from Hubspot, the guru of inbound marketing.

What IS Inbound Marketing?  I have the certification but everyone keeps asking what it means, well, the dummed down explanation is this, “Inbound Marketing is marketing focused on getting found by customers vs. outbound/traditional marketing which focuses on finding customers (through such tools as cold calling).”

So why did I get this certification that claims that I am an Inbound Marketing Professional?  Well, I’m convinced that all of these social networking sites aren’t “it.”  There is more to come and I want to be prepared.  More companies are looking for social media savvy individuals and I do NOT want to fall behind the ball and only know about traditional marketing techniques.  As marketing departments are cut, or lose backing by upper management, they are pushed to find innovative ways to get new customers and get the brand’s message out.

Inbound marketing, for the time being, allows for a lot of free advertising.  Use Twitter and Facebook and do all the connecting you want.  Get customer feedback and tell them about your brand.  But remember, communication is a two way street and you should not bombard people with solely your brand, tell people about similar activities or ask for feedback so that they feel involved in the creation of the product that will be brought to life.

Hubspot gives three main blocks to the life of successful inbound marketing:

1. Content– Always provide relevant content.  Companies that have a Twitter feed or a blog that hasn’t been updated in over a month should just delete those two accounts.  It gives me the feeling that you are just doing it to do it.  I’m here to tell you, don’t do it if you can’t do it right!

2. SEO– SEO simply makes it easier for potential customers to find your site, for example building links to your site in other places.  I do this by commenting on topics that revolve around unemployment on different news stories and urge people to checkout my blog in the hopes that it will help them.  Which is where I’ll give the following plug…I’ve been updating my Jobs.Ideas.Networking Facebook page.  Take a look and let me know what you think.

3. Social Media– Your content is amplified through the use of social media, if you use it properly.  Distribute your content in the right way and the customers will come!

Check out Hubspot and all of the great information they have about lead building, social media, inbound marketing, case studies relating to companies using social media and even learn about powerpoint best practices!

And now for some comic relief…the difference between LinkedIn, Facebook and Twitter (thanks Hubspot!)

What did you do today?

5 thoughts on “Inbound Marketing

  1. Linda, thanks for this. I agree that it is very important to stay with social media to complement one’s traditional marketing experience. Could you share with me where you got your Inbound Marketing certification?

    Vanilynne

  2. Hey Linda-

    I couldn’t have said it better myself! I’ve been working on my certification from IMU and more than one person has asked me, well what is this exactly. I think you gave a great answer!

    -Sai

Leave a Reply

