June Will Be Our Outdoor Month!

I hope everyone had a great Memorial Day weekend.  I spent mine on the cape with some great people and some fantastic food.  The weather could not have been better and I even went out for a short run on Sunday with a friend of mine.

All of this great weather is making me think about how I can get different types of exercise in…for free!  I gave some useful tips a very long time ago in my Short-Term Goals entry but now with summer right around the corner I think it’s time to revisit the topic.  So let’s forget about job searching and focus on taking care of number one…that’s YOU!

* I mentioned that I have frozen my gym membership for the summer months because I want to spend my time exercising outdoors and not inside.  I looked at the lululemon site to see if there were any pilates classes coming up at the Prudential store but instead found something even better, Boot camp classes!  Stop by the Legacy place store in Dedham every Thursday at 6pm for a real kick in the rear!

* Lately, even though I need to be training for another half marathon, I’ve been lacking a motivation for running. I decided to check out City Sports and found out that they have a free running club that runs in Boston and meets every Tuesday at 6pm. Busy on Tuesdays?  It’s OK, head over to NikeTown every Wednesday by 6:30pm for a run with another group of runners.

* Looking for more running opportunities?  Well, it turns out that tomorrow is National Running DayCity Running Tours is sponsoring a free 6 mile run through Boston.  Sign up for this fun run and be a part of the 7 city running tour.

* Feel like biking, walking or rollerblading?  I’ve always enjoyed driving over to Lexington and hopping on the Minuteman Bikeway.  You can even do some food shopping along the way at Trader Joe’s or stop by for a refreshment at the Bike Stop cafe.

I hope these little tips will help you get motivated to stay healthy and let’s make June our outdoor month!  I look forward to your suggestions for ways one can exercise outdoors.

What did you do today?

6 thoughts on “June Will Be Our Outdoor Month!

  1. Pingback: Don’t Wait, Educate! « Musings of an Unemployed MBA Graduate

  2. Pingback: Running to Network « Musings of an Unemployed MBA Graduate

  3. Pingback: June Was Our Outdoor Month « Musings of an Unemployed MBA Graduate

  4. Pingback: 2010 in Review « Career Advice 101

Leave a Reply

