Explaining Gaps in Your Resume.

I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend.  I got my first spring time walk on the beach.  It felt fantastic to get some sun and get caught up on my book.  Now I need to figure out if I want to keep on with Malcom Gladwell and read his last book, What the Dog Saw, or read something fun like The Style Strategy: A Less-Is-More Approach to Staying Chic and Shopping Smart. A book like this would be something I could put on a coffee table, that I will one day own, along with a book with all of my best photographs.

Ok, ok…on to business.  I was reading this Sunday’s Parade magazine and they had a multi-page section dedicated to jobs, how much people earn and a number of unemployed folks the magazine was following throughout their job search.  This made me want to research what Doostang was saying about the job search and I stumbled upon an article that gives tips directly to the unemployed masses!

We all wonder how to answer the “gap” question.  Should I fill the time between being laid off and now with the part time job I am working in?  But what if it has nothing to do with the industry I am looking for a job in?  What if I fill it with classes I am taking?

Well…Alesia Benedict suggests that if you have been unemployed for six months or less you shouldn’t stress.  Don’t fill gaps with useless information.  It is also OK to simply give the year only for when you were last employed.  This may be for those who have been unemployed for six or more months.  If you got laid off at the beginning of this year and would rather show that you were employed through this year might allow you to leave things a little more ambiguous.

Go ahead and read the whole article titled Economic Woes and Work Breaks.

My goals for today: prep for a little “something”, take the Inbound Marketing Professional Certification exam, do laundry and finish my book.

What did you do today?

3 thoughts on “Explaining Gaps in Your Resume.

  1. Pingback: 2010 in Review « Career Advice 101

Leave a Reply

