Job Searching via Social Media

I told you I would share more about my little project and the topic today is exactly what I am thinking about exploring.  A friend forwarded me a fantastic article from cnn.com titled How LinkedIn will fire up your career.  As companies marketing departments are opening up their minds about traditional marketing practices so are HR departments.

If you want a short synopsis of the article, here it is: “If you don’t have a profile on LinkedIn, you’re nowhere.”

John Campagnino, who is the head of global recruiting at Accenture, says that 40% of the 50,000 jobs they are going to try to fill over the next few years will be filled by using social networks such as LinkedIn.

Some statistics about LinkedIn:

* 60 million people have logged on to create profiles
* Visitor views have jumped up 31% since last year
* Every Fortune 500 company is on LinkedIn

Start networking and have a great Easter weekend!

What did you do today?

2 thoughts on “Job Searching via Social Media

  1. I just got done reading the article in Fortune, went to their website, browsed through the comments and found your blog. I plan on creating a similar blog/information site mainly for my friends to help them with their job searches. I like what I see on here, lots of good info, and I will be checking back frequently. Keep up the good work!
    -Thomas

    • Thank you so much for the kudos, Thomas! I’m hoping these tips help. I’m sure you’ll get lots of traction on your blog, just make sure to link up to articles and other social media sites and networks. There’s so much to write about and so little time!
      Happy blogging!
      Linda

Leave a Reply

