Job Search Marketing

I have decided that due to my extreme interest in Social Media and Inbound Marketing I am dedicating next week to filling you all in on what I have learned so far from the Inbound Marketing classes I am taking along with other tips and advice I’ve come across.

However, today I wanted to explore what the web was saying about the current job search market but as I was entering that into the Google search engine the first thing that came up was “Job Search Marketing.”  This is very intriguing as I  have just decided to do a little research about what information is out there for those wanting to use social media for their job search. I will tell you why I am doing this research once I get a little more done.

I advise that all of you Google “Job Search Marketing” and click through some of the top links.  The following advice is very simple but I think will be very effective for all of us as we continue the search for our next opportunity.

The article is named “Key Marketing Tools to Position Yourself on the Job Market.”  Randall Hansen advises that first and foremost you start by marketing yourself.  Think of YOU as the product, and as we all know, a product needs to be marketed.  Whether it be the traditional way, posting your resume on such sites as Monster and Career Builder, or more advanced methods of networking and attending informational interviews with your peers and other professionals.

You should follow the most common marketing tactics, creating a strategic marketing plan, conducting market research and then thinking about the 4P’s of marketing.

Strategic Marketing Plan: Answer the following questions
1. Where have I been, where am I now, and where will my career be if I do nothing?
I have been fortunate enough to be a part of some great corporations and have also been exposed to branding, product development, project management, international business and marketing, content management, creating newsletters and conducting market research.  Right now, as you all know I am looking for work but I’m not staying still.  I want to learn as MUCH as I can about social media and marketing.  If I do nothing…I’d go crazy, so my career has to go somewhere.  Maybe if I’m lucky all of this blogging and social networking will lead somewhere.

2. Where do I want to go with my career?
In the future I hope that I get to use all of my previous and current knowledge and help a company market itself in the right way.

3. How do I get to where I want to go?
Keep doing what I’m doing and hope it pays off.  I am hoping this Inbound Marketing Certification helps me as well.

4. How do I convert my plan into action steps?
I have met my goal of applying to 10 jobs this week, next I want to complete the IMU courses within the next two weeks.

5. How do I make changes to my plan if I am not getting success?
I hope to talk to all of you and see what may be working for others.  That’s what networking is all about, right?

You may also want to create a SWOT analysis, but that is up to you.

Next you should look at the current trends in your field, for example…the big trend in marketing is doing things on the web.  You should also do some research about the job market, which is exactly how I found this article!

The 4P’s are: Product, Promotion, Place and Price. In basic terms, how do you (the Product) want to Promote yourself?  Focus on your resumes and cover letters.  Think about Place, not only in the terms of what geographical areas you want to find yourself, but also WHERE YOU ARE PROMOTING YOURSELF.  As for Price, this should always be the last thing you talk about with a hiring manager but if you have information about the salary and any other benefits make sure you weigh them against your end goals.

Start tomorrow with a big cup/glass of coffee and good luck in the search, the weekend is just around the corner!

What did you do today?

Leave a Reply

