Looking past the rain

I know the weather this weekend did not allow for too much outside time but I hope you are all looking ahead to sunnier days!  I just heard a woman in Wilmington say that with all of this flooding “You can do what you can do and that’s about it.”  This made me think about searching for jobs and a couple of things I touched upon last week.

I do have to get one gripe out-of-the-way.  Why do some employers ask that you attach your resume AND fill out a work history grid?  Does filling out one over the other get you to the job quicker? To me it just seems like a waste of time…

I wrote last week that once I knew that I was not going to be gainfully employed it allowed me to get back to job searching and not have this big question mark looming above my head.  Deb Rosenbloom, who lead the Upward spiral seminar at Suffolk University said that it’s hard to get caught up in the good vibes after an interview but it’s important to stay level-headed so that if you do hear “No” it’s not as crazy of a roller coaster ride of emotions.  I met my goal for last week of applying to 10 jobs…I actually ended up applying to 20 so I wouldn’t feel bad about focusing on other things this week.

The article I came across is titled “After the Recruiter Says No” and is by Charles Purdy.

1. Don’t Beat Yourself Up About It: John Kador suggests that you learn from each experience and understand that you may not have done anything wrong.  The final decision could have come down to a feeling or connection that the hiring manager had with the other recruit.

2. Be Gracious in Defeat: Don’t be a sour puss. Thank the recruiter or hiring manager for their time and if it’s appropriate…

3. Ask for Feedback: I’m glad that this was mentioned because like I said, I spoke with the hiring manger and picked up a couple of pointers for future interviews.

4. Keep Trying: The article suggests you still keep applying to other jobs within the company.  I think the first step is to keep applying in general.

5. Bring the Recruiter Into Your Professional Network: I think this is a good tip.  Even if there are no other opportunities within the company you got turned away from, your new contact may know someone at a company you are now applying to.

Well, I’m off to begin reading my new book, Outliers by Malcom Gladwell, and working on some final work prior to graduation!

What did you do today?  And I hope the answer isn’t “pumped water out of my basement.”

2 thoughts on “Looking past the rain

  1. Just wanted to say that I saw your post on a B.com forum and decided to drop over and read your blog. It’s very good, and I have enjoyed perusing your experiences and advice. I am also on a job search, but I’ve done this before, so I had the benefit of a lot that I learned in the past. Much of your advice is in sync with what I’ve experienced and learned along the way, and it’s very reassuring.
    Thanks for your words of encouragement and for helping to keep things in perspective.

    • Thank you so much for your kind words, Lisa. I am getting some traction with this blog but I figured that since Boston.com has so many other job related sources I might as well link up to the site. Perhaps new ideas and tips from others will help me in my search.
      Linda

Leave a Reply

