Helping You Add to Your Bag Of Tricks

The phone interview went well!  Now I am using all of my network connections and hoping this all pays off.  Perhaps I will be able to add to my bag of tricks after I land this job!

There are four things I wanted to talk about today: more tips for phone interviews, the social media webinar I sat in on yesterday, a new job search site I was recommended and always asking for feedback.

*********************************************************************************************************

1. More Phone Interview Tips: I just wanted to give you another site to look at that gives tips for phone interviews.  It is aimed at graduating students but I think the advice will help anyone.  A lot of the advice is the same as yesterdays from Doostang but none the less.

1. Preparation is the Name of the Game: This is an interesting one.  Here Kelly Aldridge talks about the fact that recruiters sometimes stumble upon your resume last-minute so you should always be prepared to answer questions about a job you applied for.  I would have to say that this is THE main reason I let a call go to voicemail if I don’t recognize the phone number.  I will call the person right back but I won’t be fumbling around for the description, it will be right in front of me.

2. Keep Your Resume Near the Phone: This goes hand in hand with number 1.  Just be prepared to answer questions about yourself and how you fit the job at hand.  Also, don’t forget to keep a log of jobs you have applied to.  Earlier in my life I simply saved the jobs in my yahoo account…well, if the description was taken off-line, I had no access to it anymore.  Now I have a folder on my desktop with all of my cover letters, various versions of my resume and all the jobs I’ve applied to and ones I have been rejected from.  With over 100 job applications, there is no other way to keep track.

3. Practice (and a Cheat Sheet) Makes Perfect: Anticipate questions that a recruiter might ask you and keep notes by your phone so you can answer the questions in a thought out manner…try not to be robotic.

4. Give a Fabulous Phone Interview: Kelly says to ” Find a quiet place, sip water periodically, avoid eating, smoking or chewing gum, give short answers, speak slowly and clearly, stand, stretch or pace periodically, smile!”  Read more about each on the website.

5. Finishing Your Phone Interview on the Right Foot: Thank the Interviewer, suggest an in-person interview, reiterate your interest in the position, send a thank you note!

*********************************************************************************************************

2. Hubspot’s webinar on “How to Monitor Your Social Media Presence in 10 Minutes a Day.”  You can follow the link for the slides but I think the most important take away was that you must remember to talk TO the readers and inform them, don’t just talk about yourself.  Social media must PULL the reader in and not bang them over the head like most traditional marketing does.  Rick Burnes, the Marketing Manager at Hubspot, did a great job explaining the difference between the two, he also writes a blog!  Take a look at some of Hubspot’s upcoming webinars!  I’m sure you’ll learn something new about social media.

********************************************************************************************************

3. You should all check out a new job search site I was recommended by its IT Architect, Eric Caron.  Link Up allows you to search for jobs kind of like on simply hired or indeed.  HOWEVER, on Link Up, the jobs you click on get added as tabs, within the site!  Now I don’t have a hundred tabs on my browser but instead they are in the search site and are named by the company name.  I’m really loving this site!

********************************************************************************************************

4. Never be too shy to ask for feedback. I spoke to the hiring manager of the job I wrote about earlier this week, the one I did not get.  I figured if nothing else, I’ll get some tips about what I could do differently next time.  Always try to make lemonade out of lemons!

Good luck and have a great weekend!  Don’t forget to spring forward!

What did you do today?

Leave a Reply

