Continuing the Search

As we all near hump day, I wanted to pass along some self-help tips for job searching.  We all know that every morning begins with the following thought…here we go again, no real agenda, just some tasks to do before noon and then I have to hop on the laptop and find myself a j-o-b.

As I’ve said before, I start my day off with a trip to the gym followed by some breakfast.  Then the job searching, networking and blogging begins.  Sometimes I get so pulled into whatever I may be looking for or writing about that I realize that it’s 1pm and I have yet to shower.  Interestingly enough, how you are dressed and your surroundings will dictate how your search and day progresses.  This is especially true these last couple of days.  The sun is out, we are all looking forward to “springing forward” with our clocks this weekend and nothing can hold us back.  Keep up this momentum!

Yesterday’s blog on Doostang was titled “Play Like a Champ- Olympic Tips you can Apply to your Job Search,” where the Doostang team gives three steps to feeling better about your job search.

1. Don Your Uniform: This directly applies to what I said previously, sitting in gym clothes or PJ’s will make you feel like you have nothing else going on in your life.  Take a shower, put on some nicer clothes and you should feel better about yourself and how you would present yourself if a call for an interview was to come along!

2. Get To Know the Course: Just like any athlete, you should get to know the company you are most interested in or have an upcoming interview in.  Make sure you know the information someone in your position should know.

3. Teamwork: Get out there and network!  There are many things you can’t do on your own and these days, finding a job is certainly one of those things.

I hope that you will be able to start your Wednesday off on the right foot.  I am going to dedicate it to applying to an interesting opportunity in Cambridge, crossing my fingers a phone screen with an equally interesting company goes well, taking part in a Live Webinar titled “How to Monitor Your Social Media Presence in 10 Minutes a Day,” finishing reading The Paradox of Choice, Why More is Less, and applying to at least ten jobs!

What did you do today?

Leave a Reply

