The Prepared Bird Doesn’t Always Get the Job

Good morning.  I hope everyone enjoyed their warm weekend here on the East Coast.  I had an opportunity to go up and do some spring skiing.  We couldn’t have asked for a better weekend!

At the end of this entry I have a question for any hiring managers or recruiters.  I would love to hear your comments or feedback!

As far as Monday’s go, this has been a rather disappointing one.  I was really crossing my fingers for a good outcome from a company that made products that I would really love to own.  I went into the first interview with my head held high. I was interviewing for a marketing position that was heavy on social media.  Although I did not have this type of experience on my resume I have certainly had a lot of time to get a very good handle of how things work.  To really show this I made a mock-up Facebook page as I wanted to show that I was serious about the position and that I knew what I was doing.

I did well and got called back for a second interview.  I knew I couldn’t disappoint everyone and myself…having prepared something for the first interview I would have fallen short of my own standards if I did not prepare something for the second interview as well.  This time I drafted up ideas of how to reach potential customers during face to face events or through various modes of social media.  Everyone seemed pleased that I took the extra step.

I had really high hopes and felt I did the best to my abilities and knew that there was nothing else I could have done.  As prepared as I was for a bad outcome I was secretly hoping I wouldn’t need to worry about it.  Unfortunately, it was the bad outcome that greeted me this morning.  I’m not sure what I could have done differently.

As of today, I have to get back to looking for jobs full-time again.  I am talking to my recruiters, calling back any potential part-time opportunities and drafting up a mock Facebook page for a local business.  First things first, I have to get outside and enjoy this lovely sun.

I would really love any ideas that could be passed along to me from anyone who has interviewing or hiring experience. What has blown you away from candidates?

Thank you for reading and what did you do today?

Leave a Reply

