Starting on the right foot

As mentioned earlier, I get pretty much daily updates about networking events, other social events, jobs and general tips that I’ve been sharing with all of you.

Tomorrow being Monday it’s time to start climbing that hill again.  So here are a couple of tips from Rob McGovern of Careerbuilder:

First, become obsessive about skills fit. With the overwhelming flood of resumes in the market, recruiters have become hyper selective about “fit”. When they are screening resumes they are methodical about finding candidates with a perfect skills fit. In this recession we are long past the days when companies would take chances on poorly fitting candidates. This means you need to spend intense time researching and understanding job listings and making sure to tune yourself as a strong skills fit. You’re much better off spending your time on the few jobs where you are a great fit, than wasting your time spreading yourself far and wide.

Second, make sure your resume is near-perfect. Company recruiters must pass over the majority of candidates and an amateurish resume makes their job easy. A well polished and professional resume makes you stand out in the flood of poorly qualified candidates. A professional resume says you are polished, articulate, and focused on strong written communications. A mistake to avoid is asking your friend to review your resume. Companies are now using sophisticated resume review systems, and you need a resume deigned to work in the system. This truly isn’t a game for your friend, the pseudo expert. Jobfox is the country’s largest resume writing service and we’re helping candidates get far more interviews.

I hope these tips help with starting this next week off on the right foot and your search is fruitful!

What did you do today?

4 thoughts on “Starting on the right foot

  1. Hi Linda,

    I agree with your post about focusing on fit and submitting your best applications to fewer jobs. How are you approaching what seems to be an obsession with “industry experience” if your background isn’t exactly what’s requested in a job description?

    Alison

    • Hi Ali,

      Well…from what I’ve seen so far I am agreeing more and more about not applying to every job you see out there that may be “in your industry.” It seems that unless you have the right skills, most companies are not wiling to allow you to take some time to train. If you don’t have the skills then there are more than likely 100 people behind you who do, so why waste the time?

      I’ve decided that unlike in previous job searches I am going to really look and make sure that I fit pretty much every criteria and THEN apply. There are exceptions of course. I think you should still give it a shot in the dark and apply to a position that you may not fit 100% but you know that it’s in a company that you would die to work for.

      I hope this helps…as for the industry experience, I like to just stick to the industries that I have an interest in because if you love apparel and you go to interview at an industrial supply company…the hiring manager will feel you giving off the wrong vibes and quite honestly I don’t think you would be able to market something that you really have no interest in.

      Linda

  2. I just saw your blog today. I am in the same boat. I just finished my MBA this past November and I am having a difficult time getting an opportunity. I am either overqualified or I don’t have the year of experience in a certain industry.

    • Hi Richard,

      I agree, it’s a pain. Unfortunately, right now the MBA degree doesn’t seem to mean much unless you are already in a steady working position. I would like to believe that one day it will actually mean more than “we probably should pass up on this guy because he’ll expect a higher salary due to his education.”

      Right now, use your school for whatever you can. Do they have a career center? You may be able to find some connections. Are there any professors who really did a great job teaching your class? Reach out to them, you never know what connections they may have. And if nothing else, and I know you may dread more class, perhaps there is some skill that you can pick up that will make you more marketable? I am sure there are night classes that aren’t expensive.

      I actually used this time to write my two blogs. Now I can say that I am a lot more familiar with social media and can use this knowledge to my advantage!

      Good luck!
      Linda

Leave a Reply

