My Two Cents: Facebook Has Come A Long Way

There has been so much talk about Facebook buying up Instagram lately, people saying that Facebook is the big bad wolf, everyone wondering what’s next and contemplating shutting down their page.  So today I thought I’d write a theme about my experience with Facebook and share my two cents on this acquisition.

Picture it, a la the Golden Girls, it’s 2004 and a young Linda finds herself in Madrid, Spain on what her undergrad International Business guidance counselor likes to call “an expatriate year abroad.”  My brother was going to be attending his freshman year at Northeastern University and I was bummed that I was so far away from family, granted Madrid is much closer to Latvia, and that I wouldn’t get to show my little broski around campus.

Then he told me, there’s this cool new website where he was able to figure out which of his high school buddies would be at Northeastern as well.  The site was called, “the facebook.”  The premise was that only college students could log in. This was great, I could interact with my friends back home and I could share photos with my parents without sending zillions of big files through email!  This was the new age and we all loved this new website.  As we know, Mark Zuckerberg later dropped the “the” from the name to make a bigger statement with simply calling the site “Facebook.”

Through the years, more of my friends have joined Facebook, some have also closed their accounts, but through it all, it still remains the biggest networking platform out there.  But what else remains the same is Facebook’s ability to keep changing, evolving, and as much as we all hate to admit it, improving.

We all hate change, but when Facebook first came on the radar, everyone was so thrilled to interact and quite honestly spy on those they used to know or might not know but wish they did.  Then came the stronger privacy policies and people were given the ability to hide some updates, or hide their profiles altogether.  Through out all of it, Facebook kept increasing the amount of sharing you could do amongst your closest networks and friends.  You could also play online games, share photos, share videos, link to articles, the list goes on.

But why were all of these things becoming more and more available on this one site?  Well, here are my two cents.  We, the people, are the ones guiding where Facebook goes.  We first just linked to pages, so Facebook took that and upon linking to a page an image showed up…an image that was linked to that page via meta descriptions and alt tags and all other kinds of html mumbo jumbo.  We then wanted to (and began to) share some of our videos, so Facebook made it possible to put links within your profile which were actually housed within Facebook in an app.  Whoa!  Apps, what are those things?  Let’s get a bunch of apps and tell people about all of our activities.  What’s better?  I’m going to let people know exactly where I am in case they want to meet me…or rob me.  Well, welcome to 4square and Facebook check ins.

My point is that this Instagram acquisition, as insanely huge and costly as it is, did not come out of the blue.  We have all been linking Instagram photos with our Facebook profiles and sharing those photos with all of our friends for months, if not for at least a year.  It was pretty much time for Facebook to truly get on board and not get just a slice of the pie but the whole darn baked good!  So thank you users of Facebook for making this an easy decision for the minds behind the social networking platform.  We, the people, guide what happens next.  So watch what app becomes popular on Facebook next and I’ll bet you that Facebook will either acquire that site (Pinterest?) or make its own knock off app.

And those, are my two cents.

What did you do today?
P.S. as you can see, I have moved to blogging once a week. With everything that I have going on in life currently I want to keep blogging but the only way I’ll be able to pull it off is if I scale back.  I hope you’ll keep reading!

One thought on “My Two Cents: Facebook Has Come A Long Way

Leave a Reply

