Rejection, No One Wants It

The other day I received a letter in the mail from a place I interviewed with…it was a rejection letter.  I started to think back wondering when the last time was that I actually received a letter through snail mail that was a rejection and think it may have been when I applied to colleges, and maybe when I tried to apply to my first co-op job.  Regardless, it’s been YEARS since I got a rejection in the mail.

I mean…I guess it’s a nice touch but, knowing that this “older” and “family like” company is trying to move into the “new age” of marketing perhaps they could have skipped the letter and let me know, without having me wait for 1 month, that I was not the right candidate.

This little anecdote leads me to the topic of rejection. We all get rejected in our lives but the unemployed pool gets it a lot more.  It’s like going for seven different promotions at work and getting rejected every time.  In one sense you are being humbled that perhaps you are not the big shot you are but in another…it doesn’t really make you want to keep trying, but we have to. Being jobless doesn’t get you far, so we have to keep marching on.

I’ve told you before that I’ve tried to get feedback from places that have passed up on my resume, I have also kept business cards in the case that another job opens up and I can reach out to the HR person directly. However, at the end of the day you dust off, take a day off and keep applying.

If you are interested in some other ways of handling rejection, an article on boston.com, Bouncing back from bad interviews and job rejection, talks about points such as:

Realizing it’s probably not your fault
Feedback is you friend
Not getting defensive
Doing something with constructive feedback
Expanding your options and opportunities and many others!

Have a wonderful weekend.  Enjoy the warm weather and if you are interested, check out my Let’s Review blog later today for a local attraction I had no idea about until this week.

What did you do today?

24 thoughts on “Rejection, No One Wants It

  1. I know being unemployed is frustrating and blogging about your experience is a great release. Just an observation, your writing style, and sentence structure appears to be that of a middle/high school student. Could this be part of the unemployment problem?

    • Thank you for the comment, Olive. I’m sorry that my writing is not up to your standard. As you can see, I am still “Approving” this comment and am not ashamed if others see it. As I’ve said numerous times before, I’m all for feedback. Can you give me some examples of what you have disliked and how I can change those sentences?
      Have a fabulous weekend!
      Linda

      • My intention was not to shame you, just giving feedback. My advice is to avoid run-on sentences, and the word “that” can be eliminated from a sentence (the trick is to read the sentence without using the word “that” and if it makes sense then drop the word), try and avoid using too many pronouns. These simple changes can help one communicate effectively.

        Good luck on the job hunt.

  2. Linda,
    You have a good blog with interesting perspective on being rejected.
    I get many of them myself after being laid off in 2006 due to consolidation and due to the economy, which I expected to happen back in 2001. Fortunately I was able to work as a temporary for a year apart plus a part time job I don’t like, over the couple of years that gave me opportunity to build my reserve and plan for opportunities that may arise down the road(planning for my Masters which I must work to pay for it).

    What I always say is that take it with a grain of salt because there are many others like you and I are in the same boat and that puts the employers in the position to decide who they will let on board.

    As for the snail mail you got, that is a first I’ve heard because many times they don’t let you know at all. The way I do it, is move forward until you find something(don’t rest on your laurels) and keep up your with your knowledge in your field because it will determine if you succeed or not.

    Have a great weekend!!

    • Thank you so much for the encouragement, James!
      I agree with not resting on your laurels. I too work a part time job right now and have been studying about new marketing techniques and getting certified in inbound marketing. It’s funny you should say that the employers are now in the position of power and not us, potential employees. I have come up with a phrase of my own, “It’s a buyers market, and the employers are the buyers.”

      Have a great weekend as well!
      Linda

      • I did not say that employers are in the position of power but your phrase is much better but it is the same thing- It’s a buyer’s market…

  3. I think you should let Suffok know you are unemployed — and send them a link to your blog, showing you have a blog that mentions Suffolk and you are talking about being unemployed.

    (Your unemployed situation sort of goes against their big marketing campaign to prospective MBA students, as their ads always promise it’s the “Suffolk” grad who “gets” the job.)

    When they see you have mentioned them online as the school that awarded you an MBA, perhaps they will do something to help you find a job.

    Do they have a career service for graduates? Offer to work in their marketing department or to start a career service.

    Or, just tell them you will keep telling the world that a Suffolk MBA isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. Bet they will help you. :)

    • That is a wonderful idea, observer. :)
      I have tried reaching out to a couple of professors and the career services department at my undergrad seems to have no jobs listed and the couple they had for their own marketing department I didn’t get a call back. Weird, right?
      Thank you again for this great idea. Sometimes you need someone from the outside to open up your eyes.
      Have a good weekend!
      Linda

  4. Being jobless ranks among the top five most frustrating things in life. I wish you luck and am sure something will click very soon.
    Until then, like you said, keep trying. :)

  5. Linda, Depending on your field, there is NO relationship between writing style and becoming an executive. Ultimately, your ability to produce will how you will be measured going forward.

    I suspect I am MUCH older than you, have 2 Masters and have been unemployed twice. You will be fine. When we are unemployed worst case scenarios make us fearful and discouraged. But, when the economy recovers you will get a good job and in a year or two you will look back and barely remember the discouragement of rejection as you join the ranks of the white collar work force.

    • We always want what we don’t have, right? :) Those who are working right now are doing the job of three or four people and wish for all of this time off, but for others we can’t get back to work fast enough. I agree, the writing style for this blog is my own. My intention is simply to give others a peek into what happens and the daily things us unemployed folk go through. Through my writing however, I’ve become somewhat of a sharer of content and teacher perhaps. I never intended to give so much information about job search techniques and social media but here I am…hoping it will all pay off one day :)
      Thank you for your wonderful comment.
      Linda

  6. “In one sense you are being humbled that perhaps you are not the big shot you are ”

    Forget humbleness :-) When I was in the corporate world I saw outstanding candidates with proven records be dismissed in favor of “frat boys” … Fact is there are too many idiots with power and sometimes we need them to like us to get into places.

    The thing to remember is that as long as you communicate well your value and where and how you can make a difference, like in relationships, a place that does not value you does not deserve you. Keep seeking the corner of the universe in which you are meant to shine :-)

    Good Luck
    David

    • Thank you, David. I certainly will not give up on the search. And I agree, I have seen these “frat boys” accelerate much quicker than others around them. I am making this unemployed time be one huge learning experience and really evaluate what I want and don’t want. Three months ago I didn’t even know half as much as I know now about social media and now I am able to expand my search and apply to jobs that will allow me to grow and fine tune the skills I already do have.
      Have a wonderful weekend.
      Linda

  7. Linda,

    Found your blog while surfing the news. I too am much older than you, have a masters and 30+ years experience. This is the 3rd recession I have been through and by far the worse. One benefit of having experienced this before is that I know that at least in the US it does cycle around and things do get better. I’ve been out of work for 18 months now but I still get myself up after every rejection, dust off, and vent my anger at my plants and start anew.

    Hang in there!

    • I too have planted some green onions, basil and tomatoes. I know that at least the effort I put into gorwing these vegetables will really pay off :)
      I’m sure after this recession is over and I am back on my feet I’ll look back and wonder why I didn’t enjoy my extended vacation more.
      Thank you for your comment of encouragement, Jim.
      Linda

  8. Dear Linda

    Examine the picture you present to a prospective employer. An MBA is not a credential that gaurantees success. All it shows is that you can get sufficient grades to pass courses. The trick is to translate that to demonstrated skills and talents that companies can use.

    • Hello Lou,
      I agree that just because someone has an MBA does not mean they are right for every job. However, I do think that those that hire you for the jobs you are right for should take this credential into consideration.
      Linda

  9. Pingback: 2010 in Review « Career Advice 101

Leave a Reply

