No Good, Very Bad Job Search Techniques

I hope everyone had an enjoyable weekend and is now once again ready to begin the job search.  Yes, I know that some people may consider Monday a “day off” but why not go watch the marathoners and then just think about applying, or rather avoiding, the following 7 deadly sins of the job search.  These tips fill in some of the yet not talked about aspects of the job search such as references and transitional resumes.

1. Not Coaching Your References: You never know how quickly an interview process may go.  If you have already supplied the employer with your references and have received a second call back then I would go ahead and let the references know.  The employer may call before you interview or after but it’s best to keep everyone in the loop and make sure that specific skills can be highlighted.

2. Not Crafting a Transition Resume: This one is a new tip for me.  You may want to think about drafting up a resume that has a “Highlights” section prior to your employment section.  I finally wrote up summaries for each job and have an intro sentence that gives a high level view of my background and what I’m looking for.

3. Not Enough Time With the Informal Job Market: This suggests that you go out and network!  Don’t just use the typical job boards.  Use LinkedIn or the knowledge your networking connections may have about a new job opening.

4. Discussing Money Too Early in The Interview Process: I like the answer that is provided for this question.  I’ve been asked a number of times in the first interview about my salary expectations and haven’t entirely known what to say.  I didn’t want to sell myself short but I also didn’t want to throw out a number that was too high.  Now I will use Lauren Mackler’s tip, “Well, it really depends on the specific scope and responsibilities of the position, which I’m still getting my arms around. Perhaps we could discuss this later on in the process when I have more information.”

5. Not Going Directly to Employers: I did this once and wonder if I should do it more often.  After applying to a job at a company I decided to stop by their offices and see if I could put my name into another list of job seekers.  Instead I actually got to talk to someone in HR which gave me a better understanding of the job and the environment.

6. Falling Into the “Tell Me About Yourself” Trap: Don’t just talk about yourself, tell the interviewer why they need you and what you can offer that another candidate cannot.

7. Talking Too Much During an Interview: Give each story a beginning, middle and end.  Sometimes I talk too much as well and I’ve been trying to improve on this.  The beginning, middle and end tactic should help me and you.

Have a good marathon Monday!

What did you do today?

6 thoughts on “No Good, Very Bad Job Search Techniques

  1. Pingback: No Good, Very Bad Job Search Techniques « Musings of an Unemployed … | Free Job Search Info

  2. A frequent ” Resume Writing Tip ” for jobseekers is to judiciously incorporate in their resumes, keywords relevant to their knowledge / skills.

    No justification required for this.

    But how can jobseekers get the HR Managers to ” notice ” those keywords as soon as they open the resume ? Each resume will likely get no more than 5 seconds to make a first good impression.

    Of course, if HR Managers are using ” Resume Rater ” recruitment software to ‘ rate ‘ all incoming resumes then there is no problem.

    Not only will keywords get highlighted automatically, but even the resumes will get ranked in the descending order of ” relevance “, with the best resumes topping the list !

    I would not be surprised if many jobseekers are themselves rating their own resumes before sending to recruiters !

    After all , ” Resume Rater ” can be freely downloaded from nearly all websites listed on first page of Google search results.

    Regards

    hemen parekh

Leave a Reply

